Skip to content

Mid-Week Update: Garden Layout, Potato Plans, and an Avocado Plant.

February 4, 2011

Tonight, while watching Community (great show BTW) with my husband I finished up my garden plans. I organized all my seeds and took inventory of what I have and will need for this year. I found a great box at Goodwill earlier this year to keep everything in and now I’m ready to go.

I sketched out the garden and found a place for everything I plan on planting this season. The great thing is, I already have most of the seeds. I took into account the amount of sunlight each plant will need and tried plan accordingly. Sadly, in my garden there are few spots that get full sun for the entire day.


Check this link out– this is a project I Stumbl(ed)Upon the other day. I am thinking of doing my potatoes this way. In the comments there are other modification and things you can use. I will probably put my own spin on it nonetheless. This is great for the small space I have set aside in my garden to attempt potatoes. (the brown square in the bottom left corner)

As I mentioned in my last post, I plan on starting onions and garlic soon. I have been scoping the web trying to find all the info I need to get started. Now all I need is a warm day to be able to get out there and get them in the ground.

My lettuce is coming along quite nicely… Well the ones that have decided to germinate anyways. So far I have seen results from both of the Grand Rapids and one Bibb. Nothing yet from the Iceberg or Romaine, however, there is still time. If nothing happens by Feb7 I will attempt to plant them again. Don’t worry, I will keep you posted.

Also this week, I started a little experiment I saw on the web. This is an avocado pit and I am seeing if I can get it to sprout roots and grow. Now I don’t expect to ever actually get avocados. I just want to see if I can get it to grow. We shall see.


Until Next Time,

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:10 pm

    You’ll definitely get the avocado to sprout and grow. I have one growing right now!

  2. February 10, 2011 11:45 pm

    Should I change the water periodically? It’s dirty and I am thinking I should.

    Also, How long did it take for yours to sprout?

Leave a Reply

