Skip to content

Before I blogged, I read a blog…Got Inspired, now I’m here.

February 9, 2011

Before I blogged, I read a blog…. http://www.urbanorganicgardener.com/

This guy is great, he posts to encourage readers to grow their own food. I always find his tips, tricks, and advice to be so helpful. While reading this past year, not only did he inspire me to grow my own food he also inspired me to get into the social media gardening community myself. Thus, Through my Garden Gates was born. I wouldn’t feel right without giving him due credit for his contribution… and trust me, he will be linked all over this years posts.

Last year alone he saved me from suckers, taught me how to vine my tomatoes, showed me how to recycle green onions, and much more. For this, in my blog he will be referred to as… My Garden Guru, for that is what he is to me.

No, I’m not totally organic…yet. I am slowly making my way, with the help of my guru. However, I do plan on getting there within the next year. This year my main goal is to become a year-round gardener. Not the easiest thing to do in zone 7b, seeing as there is 4inches of snow on the ground but I am working on it.

I started in January by making garden goals, layouts, and project plans. Now it’s February and I have already started lettuce under a grow light and plan to start herbs soon. Also, the next sunny day I get I plan on getting out in the garden to plant some garlic and onions.

…but, for now, I am stuck inside, waiting… in anticipation, for this snow to get lost and bring me some sunshine.

In other news…. This morning I just had to get out of the house!!! My pup had surgery yesterday and I have been strung to the max waiting on his every whimper. I put Bo in charge for about an hour and went off duty for a little Goodwill Hunting. He was happy to help!


Boy, am I glad I did. I found some clay pots (4 for a dollar) and an old garden book to add to my collection of resources. Huzzah…

Gardening Made Easy: Step-by-Step Guide to a Beautiful Garden. This along with an old Southern Living: Garden Problem Solver and my iPad will make me unstoppable this year in the garden.


Well that’s all for now,

Stay posted, and remember I am just learning, here, and would appreciate any helpful advice or comments.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 4:03 pm

    Look forward to seeing your journey and progress. Hope your pup is feelin better.

  2. February 10, 2011 5:01 pm

    Mike’s blog is a good one to read. I love his DIY projects!

  3. Katherine permalink
    March 3, 2011 12:26 am

    I garden, I read blogs (aLOT) and after reading this, maybe I’ll blog too. There is always something to say about the garden, right? Thanks for the inspiration. 🙂

    • March 3, 2011 3:45 am

      YaY. Well let me know when you get it up, I would love to read! I also love a good read.

      …and Yes! There is always something to blog about in the garden. I have found that blogging about it gives me more of a deadlines approach and I seem to be more diligent about getting in the garden as much as possible. I love it!

      If you have a mobile device the easiest way to blog in the garden is through Tumblr. It’s a micro blogging site that is designed for quick blurbs and pics. Great way to get started, if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

