Skip to content

It’s Sunday at the Blue Bungalow Once Again…

March 6, 2011

It’s Sunday and Bowser says, “Let’s go outside!”… not yet little guy, we have some inside things to take care of first.

Until then you keep an eye on the garden and let me know of any squirrels or birds that may pass through looking for a nibble.


I got my craft on and attended a wonderful baby shower yesterday, where I got this neat-o garden swag….
Mint-Blistex…a gardener/girl must!
Seeds to start…YaY!
Small Bucket…to add to my collection.


Now to start the seeds, I had a couple more of these tiny pots so I decided to stretch this goodie bag project into 5.


Added some of my own seed starting soil to the mix and placed it under the grow light… No sprouts yet, but I’m optimistic.


Optimism is key! See… My Sage sprouted, mold and all… I planted 15, 5 suffered the misfortune of a Bowser moment, 4 sprouted, 1 was taken down by the addition of a fan before configuration. Thanks for the advice @MrBrownThumb, The mold is on it’s way out and my sproutlings made an appearance. Huzzah…


And 3 were left!


My potted onion and garlic made it clear this week they were ready to go outside, so this project was a must. I used an old tomato cage that proved to be better purposed in pieces. Grabbed some gloves, a tool, and got to work.


Happy Now? I think so…


My Rosemary seems to be a little more awake… still sulking for some sunshine? Me too…


Suffered typical soil relocation from the elements… Where’s my broom?

…and here is where I leave you, with what’s to come. I worked on the new addition this week, check it out!


Until next time,

Do Something Green!

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2011 9:53 pm

    It is always really exciting to start sowing seeds. They look great too, although from the look of some of your pcitures it might be worth turning them more often because they are getting a little leggy… leaning towards the light.

    Your dog looks so cute by the way 🙂

    • March 11, 2011 11:50 pm

      Yeah, you caught me! I forgot to turn the light on for almost a whole day the other day and they started leaning.

  2. March 16, 2011 2:15 pm

    I love the feeling of accomplishment from growing my plants from seeds. What an adorable dog!!!
    Lydia

  3. March 19, 2011 4:59 am

    Glad you’re having better success with the seedlings now! Can’t wait ’til the next update and see how far along they’ve gotten.

    • March 19, 2011 2:05 pm

      Yeah, I’m working on it. Seed starting has been an adventure to say the least for me this year. I went the cheap route as far as set-up goes and I don’t think my
      conditions are quite right to get the results I was hoping for. But, I am taking notes for next year and grateful for every single sprout… If all else fails my local nursery knows what they are doing. Ha Ha

      I have had another side project take off and I had to put my garden blog on the back burner for a bit. But, this weekend I’m working on a new update. I have done so much in the garden so it SHOULD be a big one!

      Thanks for the comment!

Trackbacks

  1. The Elements are at it again… Rain and Frost, you are no match for me! « Through my Garden Gates

Leave a Reply

