Skip to content

Saving Sage and Sowing Spice

March 20, 2011

In attempt to save my remaining sage sprouts, I decided to go ahead and transplant into pots early. At first, I was hesitant. The typical rule of thumb is to wait until there are three define leaves, but, I just needed to be through with the mold for good, so I took a chance.


I was careful not to disturb the small, almost non-existent, root base.


I hope for it to be smooth sailing for these guys from here on out. The one on the left was leaning pre-transplant and I am still not sure if it’s going to make it. The other one, however, is standing tall and looking good for harvest. We shall see…

It’s March, time for me and the rest of zone 7b to start sowing peppers according to the handy-dandy garden app, iGrowit.

Let’s get to it! Soak the seeds. 2-8 hrs. I did mine for about 4… Doing this helps awaken the seed and speed up the germination process.

Learn more… Here!


Time to plant.


Now, for the grow light and the occasional trip out to the patio when the sun is out…. O, the life of a soon-to-be seedling.

In other news… This months Martha Stewart Living is a Super Spring Read!… but not a garden issue. Sorry, readers this month I just don’t have the time…your gonna have to get your own.


Until Next Time,

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 2:11 pm

    I haven’t sown my peppers yet. I think I wond’t do it until early April. Hope your Sage survives.

    • March 22, 2011 1:09 am

      I think we are going to be lucky this year in 7b. We have had record highs and I honestly doubt it will get below freezing again… (Cross my fingers) So, I am getting a jump on everything.

Leave a Reply

