Skip to content

Up-cycle 2liter Bottles into handy tools for the garden.

March 29, 2011

This week, I got a little crafty and turned a collection of 2-liters from the recycle bin into usable garden goodies.


I cut the bottoms off and made wind/ rain protectors for my fresh from the nursery herbs. They worked well to protect against the mild-freeze and kept the harsh wind from tearing my freshly planted to shreds.


After thinking about it, I realized this might be more beneficial to me than I had originally anticipated. Some herbs, like sage, only like to get their roots wet. My bottle shields will do well to keep the ground moist and leaves dry through a heavy rain. Brilliant!


Also, I made some wind shields in anticipation of planting my pepper sprouts in a couple weeks. I simply cut the top and bottom off and plan to place them over my newly-planted peppers. This will allow the little guys to acclimate to the outdoor conditions without the worry of wind or direct sun light. I hope it works, we shall see…

…and what about the bottle bottom?


Self-Watering Starter Containers, sound good?


You will need…

Knife
Lighter or candle
Small metal rod… Paper clip, needle, or whatever
Even number of 2-liter bottles

Here’s How…

Cut 2-liters to desired length.
Note: 2 bottles makes one grow container.

I cut my first ones small, but, I think for my next ones I will make them taller to make room for more soil and potential growth.

Poke holes in half the bottle bottoms. Do this by taking a small metal rod, heating it and poking the holes through.


In my picture you can hardly see, but, I poked 3 small holes in each divot of the bottle. This will allow for even drainage throughout the container.

Now, place the holed one into the one without holes and add soil.


Before you plant make sure to do a drainage test to determine how much water your container needs. Remember, moist not muddy!


Check back next week to see how the containers work out.

Until Next Time,

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 6:30 am

    These are such great ideas! I also like to use bottles as “watering globes” to feed the plants for when I go away. http://nycgardening.blogspot.com/2010/10/feeding-plants-while-on-vacation.html

    • April 1, 2011 1:01 pm

      Yes, I have found that 2-liters can be a gardener “good thing” I like your idea to use them when going out of town too!

      I was thinking about continuing to use them on my sage and some of my other herbs (size permitted) in heavy rain…but, I was thinking about taking the cap off so that it would only get a light drip on the leaves. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

