Skip to content

Garden Fresh Herbal Ice Tea: Maintained, Harvested, and Brewed from the Beginning.

April 11, 2011

I have been super busy in the garden. This weekend we got so much work done. Bare with me over the next week as I work to blog it all. Today, I am going to share my Garden Fresh Herbal Ice Tea. This is not a recipe, but a formula. I hope you enjoy as I share something I learned last year in my 2010 Garden.


First, we must take the time to do some needed maintenance and ensure we will have a bountiful harvest throughout the entire season. Time to split!


Here’s how… From a mature plant, dig a trowel(hand shovel) into the ground, segmenting off a small portion for your offspring. Make sure the little newb has a good root structure to start with.


Spread the offsprings out allowing for potential growth. Remember what the plant looked like up top, that will give you a good idea of the potential of this herb in particular. I can’t wait until mid summer when it all grows back together into one mean green tea makin’ machine. Oh, yeah!

Now, to harvest. Well, actually I harvested before the split, note that! However, for the sake of this blog post I switched it up. This is my attempt to spice things up and reward those who pay attention. I hope you pass.

Use sheers or designated sharp scissors to ensure that the remaining plant will continue producing for many harvests to come.

When it comes to my garden fresh brew I don’t measure the amount I harvest. Each time, I gather about the same amount of leaves but refuse to make it a precise measurement. (reference the photo below for general amount)

No, this is not that type of tea.

I also switch it up, and gather different combinations and ratios with each brew. It makes for a new experience each time, I love it! So far I have harvested from a variety of different mints and balms. I am constantly working to find new herbs to bring into the mix. Here is some of the data I have collected in my quest.

The Facts and Formula:

* Use Lemon Balm twice as much as anything else.
*Mint is a MUST!
*Marjoram of any kind is not to be used… That was a big soapy tasting mistake!
*Sweeten sparingly by the cup


Rinse and separate the leaves from the stems of the plant. Add the leaves to a blender with 1 cup of water.


Blend it for a minute Until you get a soupy mixture like what is shown below.


Add the mixture plus 5 cups of boiling water to your pitcher.


Cover and place in the refrigerator until it is cold. This takes a long time so feel free to get some work done. I have found that harvesting and brewing first thing in the morning is best.


After the tea has cooled, strain the leaves off into another container.


Once again for good measure after a quick rinse of the pitcher.


Sweeten to taste with simple syrup.


…and enjoy garden side or on the go. I take mine either way.


…and if your wondering, Yes, I did just put a garden fresh-healthier spin on the infamous southern draw…Sweet Taaae. Guilty, I’m a product of my region.

Until Next Time,

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

